Fronske Studio Collection
- Approximately 130,000 black-and-white photographs are currently being processed. See Guide to the Fronske Studio Collection housed in Special Collections & Archives for access to this collection.
- Views include:
- Over four decades of local people, events, and history are reflected in the photographs in this collection. In addition to the typical individual, family, group, school, and wedding portrait work, the collection contains photographs of major local businesses such as the Arizona Lumber and Timber Company and Southwest Forest Industries, the leaders of local churches, Lowell Observatory, as well as scenes of the record-breaking snowfalls in 1948-1949 and 1967-1968. Images include those taken of the faculty, students, and buildings of Arizona State College (Northern Arizona University) and local and area schools. Mr. Fronske also documented the All Indian Pow Wows held in Flagstaff. In addition he worked as photographer for the Navajo Ordnance Depot in Bellemont.
- Biographic note:
- Robert ¨Bob¨ M. Fronske, son of Dr. Martin G. Fronske, Flagstaff's renowned ¨baby doctor,¨ graduated from New York Institute of Photography and established Fronske Studio in 1939. He married Therese Jakle; during World War II, when he was called to serve in the U.S. Navy, she ran the studio. After forty-five years of business at 21 East Aspen, they retired in 1985.
Special Collections and Archives Department
Northern Arizona University
All contents copyright ©1998. ABOR, NAU. All rights reserved.