Georgie Clark Collection
Browse
this Collection
Dr. and Mrs. Robert Baer
PH.93.27.1-26
- Volume:
- 26 color photographs
- Views include:
- Photographs taken on 1967 river trip with Georgie Clark to the Rio Grande
de Santiago in Jalisco, Mexico: the Santa Rosa dam and reservoir under flood
conditions, Georgies´s boat and passengers on the trip, regional people
and villages, the plane used in the rescue of the trip, and a sketch map of
the trip´s route and incidents
- Biographic Note:
- Robert (Bob) and Jean (¨Bimbo¨ or ¨Bim¨) Baer signed
up for Georgie Clark´s 1967 trip down the Rio Grande de Santiago, Mexico
after having accompanied her on previous trips in the United States. From
the start, the trip was wrought with difficulties. The river was in flood
conditions, with enormous amounts of water flooding over the three spillways
of the Santa Rosa Dam, where the trip put in. The troubles began almost immediately
when the motors were lost. One of the sections of the boat, which was one
of Georgie´s ¨thrill rigs¨ consisting of three inflatable rafts
lashed together, flipped. The water level rose, fell, and rose. The boat flipped
again. The passengers became separated; one woman spent two nights alone.
Aided by the local villagers, the entire party was successfully rescued, but
the boats and equipment were abandoned. Although the Baers remained very fond
of Georgie, they never went on another river trip.
For related materials see the Georgie Clark Manuscript Collection, particularly
the interviews with Dr. & Mrs. Baer and Orville Miller
Lois Englebright
PH.93.11.1-2
- Volume:
- 2 color photographs
- Views include:
- Georgie Clark running her boat through the Grand Canyon in May, 1961
- Biographic Note:
- Lois Englebright was a passenger on Georgie´s May, 1961 river trip
through the Grand Canyon
For related materials see the Georgie Clark Manuscript Collection.
Delphine Gallagher
PH.93.5.1-198
- Volume:
- 196 color slides, 2 black-and-white photographs
- Views Include:
- Glen Canyon, Marble Canyon, and Grand Canyon river trips, with photographs
of passengers, boatwoman Georgie Clark, scenery, rafts, and plants, archaeological
features, 1960's
- Biographic Notes:
- Delphine Mohrline took her first river trip with Georgie (White) Clark in
1962 through Glen Canyon (where she met Jim Gallagher, whom she would eventually
marry). Like so many of Georgie's passengers, she kept coming back for more:
to Cataract Canyon (1963), the Balsas River in Mexico (1963), and ultimately
the Grand Canyon, where she became an official Royal River Rat, in 1965. The
slides in this collection are a compilation of photographs taken by Ms. Gallagher
and her fellow passengers and are accompanied by a script.
For related materials on Delphine Gallagher, including an article entitled
¨The Perils of Delphine,¨ see the Georgie Clark manuscript
collection.
Rosalyn Jirge
PH.92.10.1-42
- Volume:
- 1 black-and-white photograph, 41 color photographs, 1 black-and-white negative,
11 color negatives
- Views include:
- portraits of Georgie (White) Clark, Georgie passengers and boatmen; ca.
1956-1990
- Biograpic Note:
- Rosalyn Jirge, born in Chicago, IL, raised in Los Angeles, CA, and now a
resident of San Francisco, first heard of Georgie (White) Clark when she saw
a television program featuring the ¨Woman of the Rivers¨ at age
16 or 17. She vowed someday she would take a trip with her through the Grand
Canyon; in late June of 1977, her dream came true. Jirge was hooked, taking
a trip each summer for the next four years as a passenger. She also began
helping Georgie at the San Francisco Sports and Boat Show, held annually for
ten days in January. As a thank-you for her assistance, Georgie asked Jirge
if she would like to work with her as a helper. Jirge accepted with great
joy, doing two to four trips per year through 1990. Due to a family illness,
Jirge was unable to be on Georgie´s last Grand Canyon trip in September
of 1991, a source of ¨great sadness¨ to Jirge. Georgie died on May
12, 1992 of cancer.
To quote Jirge, ¨Georgie had an incredible influence on my life, as
well as on the lives of most of the people she touched. She taught me how
to love and respect the Canyon, the River, and the people who travel through
it. I can never hope to repay all she gave me.¨ Jirge has been leading
the effort to name a rapid or other Grand Canyon feature in honor of Georgie
Clark.
Helen Strzelecki
PH.93.28.1-5
- Volume:
- 5 black-and-white photographs
- Views include:
- Gaging station, passengers, boats on 1957 Cataract Canyon trip with Georgie
Clark
- Biographic Note:
- John Lonk took several river trips with Georgie Clark, including the one
during which these photographs were taken, through Cataract Canyon in 1957.
His sister, Helen Strzelecki, donated the photographs to the Cline Library.
For related materials, see the Georgie Clark manuscript collection.
Sylvia Tone
PH.93.4.1-41
- Volume:
- 14 color photographs, 27 color slides
- Views include:
- Photographs taken during river trips with Georgie (White) Clark down the
Colorado River through Cataract, Glen and Grand Canyons as well as the Columbia
and Frazer Rivers in British Colombia, Canada, ca. 1962-1970; Hite, Utah,
ca. 1963; Shine Smith´s Navajo Christmas Parties, ca. 1960´s; Havasupai
Indians and views of falls on Havasu Creek, ca. 1964
- Biographic Note:
- Sylvia Tone (known to her fellow Royal River Rats as ¨Toney¨)
took numerous river trips with Georgie (White) Clark, from about 1962 to at
least 1970. The two women became good friends, as reflected in the correspondence
Georgie wrote to Toney (see the Georgie Clark manuscript collection, #270).
Cline Library
Special Collections and Archives Department
Northern Arizona University
All contents copyright ©1998. ABOR, NAU. All rights reserved.