Cline LibraryResources Toolbox



Resources Toolbox: Persistent Links to Westlaw Full Text

Cline Library now provides NAU access to three valuable Westlaw databases:

These resources allow users to download or e-mail any full text documents or articles they find as html or .pdf attachments. Some users, especially instructors, may want to share direct links to the content in e-mails and/or Bb Learn courses. You cannot simply view a document in a Westlaw database, copy the url in your browser's address bar, and share it in an e-mail or in your Bb Vista course– these URLs contain temporary, session-based strings that make the URL unusable for anyone else:

The URL in your browser address bar will not work for sharing

Cline Library has worked with Westlaw to enable direct, persistent links to much of the full text content in the Campus Research databases. Use the tool below to create persistent links that can be shared by e-mail or on your Web pages. (Please note that anyone using these links from a non-NAU network connection will be prompted to login with an NAU ID and password.)

  1. Highlight and copy the standard Westlaw citation in the document you want to link to (e.g., 42 U.S.C.A. § 7401 ; see more examples below)
  2. Paste it into the box below and click Go!
  3. Test it on the resulting page, then copy and share it by e-mail, in your Bb Learn course, etc. A persistent, shareable link will look like this:
    http://library.nau.edu/cf/info/westlaw.cfm?cite=42U.S.C.A.7401

    Tips for locating Westlaw citations

 

More examples of Westlaw citations:

Campus Research - Law, United States Code Annotated

Westlaw Campus Research- Law, U.S. Code Annotated. Citation: 42 U.S.C.A. § 7401

To Top


Campus Research - Law, Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated

Westlaw Campus Research- Law, Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated. Citation: A.R.S. § 17-456

To Top


Campus Research - News & Business, Westlaw NewsRoom (WLNR)

Westlaw Campus Research- News and Business, Westlaw NewsRoom. Citation: 2009 WLNR 13011807

To Top


Campus Research - Hoover's Company Records, Westlaw NewsRoom (WLNR)

Westlaw Campus Research- Hoover's Company Records. Citation: 2009 WLNR 19821886

To Top

Library Home
Toolbox Overview | Licensed Resources | Database Searches | Books & E-Books | Journals & Articles

This page last modified October 25, 2011

Resources Toolbox
Bookmark / Share This Page

Bookmark

Ask a Librarian & Other Contact Options
Related Support Links
Need Technical Help with Your Online Course? Contact: