Cline LibraryResources Toolbox

   What's this?
Try 360 Search - General Research for research content from mulitiple databases, e.g., forest thinning and wildfires
Search Google Scholar for academic content, e.g., open courseware and higher education
Search the library catalog for books and other materials, e.g., wildlife and habitat
Search for licensed web resources and databases, e.g., jstor
Search for online journals by exact title, e.g., Journal of Forestry
Search for online journals by words in titles, e.g., sociology finds American Journal of Sociology
Search the library web site for words or phrases, e.g., "course reserves"


Library Resources Toolbox LogoResources Toolbox: Database Searches

The library's licensed 360 Search, EBSCOhost, and CSA Illumina database services allow you to create custom search links or boxes and place them in your Blackboard Vista courses or other Web locations. Since these are licensed services, anyone using one of these custom links or search boxes from a non-NAU network connection will be prompted to authenticate with an NAU ID or password.

| 360 Multi-Database Searches | EBSCOhost Database Searches | CSA Illumina Database Searches

360 Multi-Database Searches

The 360 Search service allows you to search pre-defined, multi-database sets for various topics or pick the specific databases you want to search.

Select the 360 Search topic set from the list below, type your search terms in the box, and click Go! to generate copy-and-paste code for search links and boxes. If you leave the search box blank, you will only see code for creating a blank search box aimed at the target search set.



    

Tip: enclose phrases in quotes, e.g., "presidential campaigns" and fundraising. For more 360 Search information and tips, see the basic and advanced help guides.

To Top

EBSCOhost Database Searches

Beta The library's EBSCOhost databases provide access to EBSCOhost Databasesjournal articles and other research content on a wide range of subjects. You can create links that load mulitiple EBSCOhost databases into a basic search screen, links that generate pre-defined search results in select EBSCOhost databases, or search boxes that you can place in your Web pages or online courses.

Select the EBSCOhost database(s) for which you want to create a link or search box, type your search term(s) in the box, select the search type (Boolean/Phrase, etc.) and click Go! to generate copy-and-paste code for search links and boxes. The options you will see-- a link and a search box -- will contain the search term(s) you entered. If you don't enter any search term(s), your options will include a link that loads the database(s) you selected into an EBSCOhost basic search screen and a blank search box aimed at the database(s) you selected.

This is a "beta" version of a new tool for generating EBSCOhost search links and boxes. Tell us what you think of the tool and how it can be improved.

   Tips on Search Types
    

More on EBSCOhost search types

To Top

CSA Illumina Database Searches

New! Create CSA Illumina search links and boxesBeta CSA Illumina DatabasesThe library's CSA Illumina databases provide access to research literature in the biological and life sciences, geology, medicine, sociology, and political science, among others. You can create links that load mulitiple CSA Illumina databases into a search screen, links that generate pre-defined search results, or search boxes that you can place in your Web pages or online courses.

Select the CSA Illumina database(s) for which you want to create a link or search box, type your search term(s) in the box, and click Go! to generate copy-and-paste code. The options you will see-- a link and a search box -- will contain the search term(s) you entered. If you don't enter any search term(s), your options will include a link that loads the database(s) you selected into a CSA search screen and a blank search box aimed at the database(s) you selected.

This is a "beta" version of a new tool for generating search links and boxes. Tell us what you think of the tool and how it can be improved.

   | Search Tips

CSA Illumina Search Tips

Examples:

To Top

Library Home
Toolbox Overview | Licensed Resources | Database Searches | Books & E-Books | Journals & Articles

This page last modified November 20, 2009

Bookmark / Share This Page

Bookmark
What is this?

Related Support Links
Need Technical Help with Blackboard Vista? Contact: