- Toolbox Overview
- Licensed
Resources - Database
Searches - Books &
Media - Journals &
Articles - Westlaw
Citations
Resources Toolbox: Journals & Articles
The Library provides access to tens of thousands of online journals through subscriptions to databases, journal collections, and individual titles. The Library's Find Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers page enables you to search or browse for titles or find titles by academic subject.
Use this page to find copy-and-paste HTML-formatted links for journal records, searches, and subject browsing, and for advice on linking directly to articles within journal-related Web sites and databases.
Journal Title Searches
Journals by Subject
Sharing Article URLs
Online Journal Title Searches
Choose the type of journal search you want from the dropdown menu, enter your journal title or title words, and click Go! You will see copy-and-paste code for a simple link and a journal search box that you can incorporate into your online class or other Web pages.
Journal Search Tips:
- "Title Begins With" searches for e-journal titles that begin with certain words: American Journal of
- "Title Equals" searches for exact titles: American Journal of Sociology
- "Title Contains All Words" searches for a word or words in e-journal titles: sociology
Browse for Journals by Subject
You can also browse for online journal titles arranged in hierarchical subject order based on the Library of Congress classification system. Select the subject from the dropdown menu-- the copy-and-paste HTML-formatted link will appear below. Click Go to test the link:
Articles in Databases and Journal Collections: Linking and Sharing URLs
Sharing urls to individual articles in licensed databases and journal
collections can be a bit complicated. If you find several or more articles
that you would like to share with students or colleagues, please consider
using Cline Library's
Electronic Reserves service to provide online access. See the Add a Course Reserve form or contact the Course Reserves unit
(Course.Reserves
; 928 523-9142)
for more information.
If you decide to share article urls on your own, keep in mind that with many licensed article databases, you cannot simply find the article, then copy the url from your browser's address bar to share in a web page or e-mail message. Article urls in the browser address bar will often contain information that is specific to that particular browser session and the url will not work for anyone else. For example, this is the case with the library's EBSCOhost databases:

Tips for sharing article urls:
E-mail articles and information from the database. Most article databases and collections provide a way to mark the articles you want from the search results and e-mail article information, full text, and persistent (shareable) urls to yourself and others:

Find the article's persistent (shareable) url in the citation. For example, EBSCOhost databases provide persistent link information in article citations that you can copy and share (you may have to scroll down the page to see the persistent link information):

Other databases use the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) protocol to provide consistent and persistent access to content. For example, look for DOI urls in ScienceDirect article citations:

Right-click on the link starting with doi: and choose "Copy Shortcut" (in IE) or "Copy Link Location" in Firefox / Mozilla. Paste the url into your e-mail message or other application. As stated in ScienceDirect's help file: "When you use the DOI to create URL hyperlinks to documents on the web, they are guaranteed never to change."
Make sure urls include the EZProxy prefix. If the NAU students or colleagues with whom you're sharing the url(s) might try to connect from commercial Internet services or non-NAU networks, the url must include the EZProxy prefix to enable them to login and access the content with an NAU ID and password:
- Un-proxied article url (can only access through an NAU network connection):
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=37820147&site=ehost-live
- "EZProxied" article url (can access with any network connection):
http://libproxy.nau.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=37820147&site=ehost-live
Library Home
Toolbox Overview | Licensed Resources
| Database Searches | Books & E-Books
| Journals & Articles
This page last modified July 13, 2009