Cline LibraryHelp

   What's this?
Try 360 Search - General Research for research content from mulitiple databases, e.g., forest thinning and wildfires
Search Google Scholar for academic content, e.g., open courseware and higher education
Search the library catalog for books and other materials, e.g., wildlife and habitat
Search for licensed web resources and databases, e.g., jstor
Search for online journals by exact title, e.g., Journal of Forestry
Search for online journals by words in titles, e.g., sociology finds American Journal of Sociology
Search the library web site for words or phrases, e.g., "course reserves"

Help: Guide to Peer Reviewed (Refereed) Journals

Abstract: Find out what "peer reviewed" means, and how to use library resources to locate peer reviewed journals and articles.

What is a Peer Reviewed Journal? | How to Find Out if it's Peer Reviewed | Limiting to Peer Review | Magazines vs. Journals

What is a Peer Reviewed Journal?

In a peer reviewed journal (also known as refereed) drafts of articles are critically assessed by other scholars in the author's field or specialty before they are accepted for publication.

Peer review is the accepted method for ensuring that information is of the highest quality.

Just because a journal is peer reviewed does not guarantee that all articles in it are included in the peer review process. Some article types, such as news items, editorials and book and article reviews, may not be peer reviewed.

Learn more:

To Top

How Do I Find Out if a Journal is Peer Reviewed?

In a peer reviewed journal (also known as refereed) drafts of articles are critically assessed by other scholars in the author's field or specialty before they are accepted for publication. Peer review is the accepted method for ensuring that information is of the highest quality.

Just because a journal is peer reviewed does not guarantee that all articles in it are included in the peer review process. Some article types, such as news items, editorials and book and article reviews, may not be peer reviewed.

To find out if a journal is peer reviewed/refereed, use Ulrich's Periodical Directory. For example, you can use the advanced search to look for journals on particular subjects that are also refereed:

Ulrich's search example

Or, if looking up a journal by title, look for the "refereed" icon next to the title:

Ulrich's journal title display

To Top

Limiting to Peer Review in Databases

Some of the library's article databases allow you to limit your search results to peer reviewed articles only. In Academic Search Premier from EBSCOhost, you can check a box to limit results to articles from peer reviewed journals:

Limiting to peer-reviewed journals in EBSCOhost

For a listing of all EBSCOhost databases available to the NAU community, see the menu.

In Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) databases like Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, you can view subsets from your search results, including "Peer-Reviewed Journals":

Sample peer-reviewed subset from CSA search results

For a listing of all available CSA databases, see the menu.

Remember that not all articles or items that are published in a peer reviewed journals (editorials, reviews, letters, etc.) will necessarily have gone through the peer review process.

You can check the Help screens of other databases to find out if limiting by peer review is available and how to use this function.

Learn More:

To Top

What is a Magazine? What is a Journal?

Magazines Journals
Examples: Time, Life, Vogue, Vanity Fair, Sports Illustrated, Fortune, Popular Science Examples: Journal of Accounting and Economics, Journal of the American Medical Association, American Sociological Review, Journal of Psychology
Audience: General public to knowledgeable layperson Audience: Scholars, specialists, and students
Written by: Professional journalists; not necessarily specialists in the field; poets and writers of fiction, essayists Written by: Specialists in the field; usually scholars with PhDs.
Timeliness: More current than books Timeliness: More current than books
Content: Popular topics; current affairs; general discussion; editorial opinion; graphics; photographs; advertisements; usually no bibliography or list of sources Content: Research results, frequently theoretical in nature; detailed examination; statistical analysis; graphics; bibliography usually included
Primary Source: First hand accounts; original reporting; etc. Primary Source: Reports of original research; case studies; clinical studies; etc.
Slant: May reflect the editorial bias / slant of the magazine Slant: Supposed to present objective/neutral viewpoint; may be difficult to comprehend because of technical language or jargon; often sponsored by professional associations

cover of Time magazine

Magazines are often sold on the newsstand and in many—but not all—cases may have a more graphic look with more advertising and photographs and slicker paper.

cover of Journal of Accounting and Economics

Journals are often produced by the academic community; sometimes they are a benefit of membership to a society or organization. In many—but not all—cases journals may have a more scholarly appearance.

Learn More:

To Top


E-mail info to a friend or colleague E-mail to a friend | Comment on or report a problem with the resource Comment or report a problem | Bookmark

Home
Research Resources | Course Resources | Services | About the Library

This page last modified March 27, 2009

Help Topic Search
Bookmark / Share This Page

Bookmark
What is this?

Quick Links
Quick Resource Links